Archdiocese of Changanassery


Archdiocese of Changanassery is the largest Catholic Diocese in India and its recognition as the same has a history which starts from the year of 1887. The Archdiocese of Changanacherry is one of the first two Vicariates and the second Metropolitan Archdiocese of the Syro-Malabar Church, after the establishment of the Syro-Malabar hierarchy which was the prelude to the restoration of the identity of the Church in 1992 as Sui luris Church. The Archdiocese of Changanacherry now comprises the civil districts of Thiruvananthapuram, Kollam, Pathanamthitta, Alappuzha and Kottayam in Kerala and Palai, Kanjirapally and Thucklay as its suffragans. Archbishop Mar Joseph Powathil assumed the office of the Archbishop of Changanacherry on 17th January 1986 and resigned in 2007. Mar Joseph Perumthottam was appointed on 20th January 2007 as the new Metropolitan Archbishop of Changanacherry and was installed on 19th March 2007.